Posts Slider

January 25, 2022

U.S. Voters

Voters News, tools and information

P&P Live! John Rocco | HURRICANE

2 min read

Join Caldecott Honoree John Rocco as he discusses his latest picture book HURRICANE. Click here to purchase HURRICANE: https://www.politics-prose.com/book/9780759554931

A young boy and his family barricade their home against an encroaching Hurricane. The winds roar while the boy sleeps, dreaming of the dock where he spends lazy summer days swimming and playing. When dawn arrives, he is distressed to find his beloved dock in disrepair, but develops a more hopeful outlook by joining other community members in rebuilding. In almost photo-realistic artwork, Rocco uses color to transport the reader through the darkness of the hurricane and into the light of renewed hope. Fans of Rocco’s Blackout and Blizzard will delight in his newest picture book.

John Rocco is a New York Times Bestselling author and illustrator of many acclaimed books for children, including Wolf! Wolf!, winner of the Borders Original Voices Award for best picture book; Moonpowder; Blizzard; and Blackout, a winner of the Caldecott Honor. Rocco also illustrated Whoopi Goldberg’s Alice and the covers for Rick Riordan’s internationally bestselling series Percy Jackson and the Olympians, among others. Most recently, Rocco’s first book of nonfiction, How We Got To The Moon, was longlisted for the National Book Award.

Ages 4 to 8

—————————————————–Be Sure To Click SUBSCRIBE—————————————————————

Visit us online at: http://www.politics-prose.com/
Follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/PoliticsProse
Follow us on instagram: https://www.instagram.com/politicsprose
Like us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/politicsandprose/
Follow Us On TikTok: https://www.tiktok.com/@politicsprose?lang=en&is_copy_url=1&is_from_webapp=v1
Subscribe to our e-mail newsletter:
https://politics-prose.us9.list-manage.com/subscribe/post?u=804c700632a508a8e792e69cf&id=6a0dbf1855&SIGNUP=HomepageFooter

Founded by Carla Cohen and Barbara Meade in 1984, Politics and Prose Bookstore is Washington, D.C.’s premier independent bookstore and cultural hub, a gathering place for people interested in reading and discussing books. Politics and Prose offers superior service, unusual book choices, and a haven for book lovers in the store and online.

News Source: Politics and Prose

Posts Grid

1 min read

Watch as a parent accuses the school of having litter boxes in the bathrooms for students who identify as animals. John Iadarola and Francesca Fiorentini...

2 min read

The UK High Court ruled that Julian Assange can petition for a hearing, stalling any extradition. John Iadarola and Francesca Fiorentini break it down on...

1 min read

Anti-Vaxx Robert F. Kennedy Jr. invokes Anne Frank to justify his beliefs. John Iadarola and Francesca Fiorentini break it down on The Damage Report. Francesca...

2 min read

The conservative U.S. Supreme Court is challenging affirmative action. John Iadarola and Francesca Fiorentini break it down on The Damage Report. Francesca will be doing...

2 min read

Donald Trump is an attempt to protect himself drops which kid he'd feed to the wolves first. John Iadarola and Francesca Fiorentini break it down...

1 min read

Ukraine's ambassador to the U.K. Vadym Prystaiko discusses the threat of invasion by Russia. He speaks on "Bloomberg Surveillance: Early Edition." More from: Bloomberg Politics